My first guitar: the steel string acoustic

My first guitar took about three years to build. I built it by hand and learned a lot about using hand tools and various woodworking techniques. It’s a steel string acoustic, with a dreadnought design. The body is slightly thinner than most dreadnoughts, so it sits nicely on your lap. This might also explain it’s tone, which is something of a cross between a dreadnought and a Martin OO model.

Here are some pictures of the first time I put the strings on:

Stringing up for the first time

Stringing up for the first time

My first acoustic guitar

Strumming my first hand built acoustic guitar

Strumming my first hand built acoustic guitar

I’m really pleased with the result. Not only what it looks like, but also how it sounds. The guitar has a clear, defined tone. Instead of a boomy bass, the bass tones balance well with the highs. I set the string spacing slightly wider than ‘standard’, so it’s great for finger-picking.

One thought on “My first guitar: the steel string acoustic

  1. Pingback: Shaping and laminating the headstock | Guitar building by hand

Leave a Reply

