The rosette channel

In order to make the channel for the rosette I used a circle cutter to mark out the inner and outer edges. I drilled a hole in the centre of the sound hole and used the circle cutter to cut two circles into the wood about 1mm deep: one for the inside of the rosette channel and one for the outside. I turned the cutter by hand, turning it in different directions to ensure I was constantly cutting across the grain:

Rosette channel cut using a circle cutter

Rosette channel cut using a circle cutter

Next, I cut the channel between the two circles using a chisel. The channel is now ready for the inlay work:

The rosette channel, ready for the inlay

The rosette channel, ready for the inlay

3 thoughts on “The rosette channel

    • Thanks! Glad to hear you find the blog useful. I’m a bit behind on my blogging but will post some more soon. I just checked out your blog and am looking forward to seeing more of your progress. It’s looking good.

Leave a Reply

