Fitting the inlay rings into the rosette

In my last post I showed how I created the rosette channel. Before that I wrote about the olive wood inlay I was preparing for the rosette. I had decided that the olive wood would be surrounded by a series of concentric ‘rings’. I cheated a bit by using a combination of laminated strips I ordered from Stewmac. It was a bit of a gamble choosing these off the internet, but when they arrived they looked great. First I reduced the height of the strips with a plane (this would make it easier to check the strips were properly in place, with no gaps, before glueing). Then I bent the strips using a bending iron and glued them in place. Here’s the result:
Rosette channel with laminate strips

Rosette channel with laminate strips

I held the strips in place with pins while glueing. I don’t have any pictures of this, but here’s a picture of how I completed a similar step when I worked on my first guitar (I made those strips myself):
Rosette inlay held down with pins

Rosette inlay held down with pins

Here you can see how the pins are angled so they create a downward force, pushing the wooden strip against the walls of the rosette channel. This is a very simple but effective way to glue the strip down, which I learned at my workshop (more about my workshop will follow in another post).
Leave a Reply

