I’m making a box

I’m making a box. It’s quite exciting as this is the first time I’m be applying the joint making skills I learned at Paul Sellers’ course in April. Since it’s my own design it took some time to think it all through. And of course I changed a couple of things along the way.

I’m using pieces of oak and iroko. I’ve never worked with iroko wood before (actually I’d never heard of it before I got it). It’s a very interesting wood: very nice texture, even a bit oily, but very brittle. I’m also using some new (old) tools I bought recently, so this is a fun way to get to know them better.

Anyway, here’s some pictures of the work in progress. I’ll post some more pictures when the box is done.

[Postscript, 30-9-2013: to see the completed box, see the pictures of the ‘box for phone chargers’ on my picture gallery page]

Glueing the bottom

Glueing the bottom pieces of the box (iroko wood)

A creative mess: working on the sides of the box

A creative mess: working on the sides of the box

Leave a Reply

